Discover and share stories

of adventure, connection, and change making.

4 people think this is good

  • Jackie Ramirez
  • Hillary Newman
  • Alessandra Rizzotti
  • Liz Dwyer

Building Stronger Communities: Obama Announces the First Five 'Promise Zones'

Liz Dwyer

Because "a child's zip code should never be what determines his or her opportunity," change is coming for residents of San Antonio, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, Southeastern Kentucky, and the Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma. President Obama has identified these as 'Promise Zones,' communities that the federal government will work closely with to "to create jobs, provide quality, affordable housing and expand educational opportunity." Bonus: 15 more zones will be created in the next three years.

Continue to



  1. {{}}

Ready to post! You’ve uploaded the maximum number of images.

Oops! Nice pic, but it’s just not our (file) type. Please try uploading a .jpg or .png image.

Well, this is embarrassing. Something went wrong when posting your comment. Care to try again?

That image is too large. Maximum size is 6MB.

Posting comment...