An Architecture Award That's Open to Anyone

Architizer—one of the largest and fastest growing websites for architecture—launches the A+ Architecture Awards.

Architecture is a medium that affects everyone. More and more innovative projects are being created that aren't getting the recognition they deserve. That's why we at Architizer, one of the largest architecture websites, launched the A+ Architecture Awards. It's a totally new contest that opens the floor to individuals and companies who are influencing all of us—whether directly interested in the field or not.

We're putting out a call for proposals for people that are not only exploring how to design amazing structures, but also architectural projects that examine the economic crisis, social issues, mobility—even the weather. We want to see how people address these larger social issues and incorporate them into their designs.

We didn't think that architecture needed another awards program stuck in the architectural echo chamber. Instead we wanted the A+ awards to be the biggest, most visible, most awesome awards program that the field has ever seen. So we partnered with the producers of The Webby Awards, the ultimate annual internet awards, and Recognition Media, the team behind the Webby's.

Then we invited 200+ jurors from diverse fields including product design, technology, media (like GOOD!), development (the people who actually hire architects!), cultural leaders, key developers, brand managers and other business luminaries that commission and support great architecture across the globe. The jurors include John Edelman of Design Within Reach, Jason Millhouse of the Ritz Carlton, GOOD's co-founder and creative director Casey Caplowe, Roy Kim of Extell Development, Charles Adler of Kickstarter, Barry Bergdoll of MoMA, and superstar photographer Iwan Baan. From the architecture community, we’ve rounded up an impressive bunch: Steven Holl, Charles Renfro, Bjarke Ingels, Ben van Berkel, and David Rockwell, among others.

Determined to be inclusive, we’ve created a program that offers something for everyone. There will be 50 categories broken into two sections: Typology Awards and Plus Awards. Typological categories, from residential to institutional, are open to buildings completed in the past three years. The Plus Awards, open to built and unbuilt work, highlight architecture’s role in serving the needs of contemporary society. Here’s where you’ll find more open-ended categories such as +Weather, +Economic Crisis, and +Urban Transformation. The public will be able to review the ways in which these architectural projects have been modified in response to these issues. For example, the +Weather projects will address concerns such as rising sea levels, and natural disasters. We all recall Katrina and other devastating hurricanes—we'll see some of the most innovative projects that came in response.

By May 16, 2013, we'll be celebrating the winners of the awards at a gala in New York City, where each one will receive a bespoke trophy designed by Snarkitecture. We’ll also be announcing a Firm of the Year, Building of the Year, and Client of the Year.

The early entry deadline for the Architizer A+ Awards is November 9, 2012. To enter, register at

via The Howard Stern Show / YouTube

Former Secretary of State, first lady, and winner of the popular vote in the 2016 presidential election, Hillary Clinton, sat own for an epic, two-and-a--half hour interview with Howard Stern on his SiriusXM show Wednesday.

She was there to promote "The Book of Gutsy Women," a book about heroic women co-written with her daughter, Chelsea Clinton.

In the far-reaching conversation, Clinton and the self-proclaimed "King of All Media" and, without a doubt, the best interviewer in America discussed everything from Donald Trump's inauguration to her sexuality.

Keep Reading Show less

Offering parental leave for new fathers could help close the gender gap, removing the unfair "motherhood penalty" women receive for taking time off after giving birth. However, a new study finds that parental leave also has a pay gap. Men are less likely to take time off, however, when they do, they're more likely to get paid for it.

A survey of 2,966 men and women conducted by New America found that men are more likely to receive paid parental leave. Over half (52%) of fathers had fully paid parental leave, and 14% of fathers had partially paid parental leave. In comparison, 33% of mothers had fully paid parental leave and 19% had partially paid parental leave.

Keep Reading Show less

Bans on plastic bags and straws can only go so far. Using disposable products, like grabbing a plastic fork when you're on the go, can be incredibly convenient. But these items also contribute to our growing plastic problem.

Fortunately, you can cut down on the amount of waste you produce by cutting down on disposable products. And even more fortunately, there are sustainable (and cute) replacements that won't damage the environment.

Coconut bowls


Who says sustainable can't also be stylish? These cute coconut bowls were handmade using reclaimed coconuts, making each piece one of a kind. Not only are they organic and biodegradable, but they're also durable, in case your dinner parties tend to get out of hand. The matching ebony wood spoons were polished with the same coconut oil as the bowls.

Cocostation Set of 2 Vietnamese Coconut Bowls and Spoons, $14.99; at Amazon

Solar powered phone charger


Why spend time looking around for an outlet when you can just harness the power of the sun? This solar powered phone charger will make sure your phone never dies as long as you can bask in the sun's rays. As an added bonus, this charger was made using eco-friendly silicone rubber. It's win-win all around.

Dizaul Solar Charger, 5000mAh Portable Solar Power Bank, $19.95; at Amazon, $19.95; at Amazon

Herb garden kit

Planter Pro

Put some green in your life with this herb planter. The kit comes with everything you need to get a garden growing, including a moisture meter that helps you determine if your herbs are getting the right amount of food to flourish. All the seeds included are certified to be non-GMO and non-hybrids, meaning you can have fresh, organic herbs right at your fingertips.

Planter Pro's Herb Garden Cedar Planter, $39.00; at Amazonedar Planter, $39.00; at Amazon

Reusable Keurig cups

K & J

Keurig cups are convenient, but they also create a ton of plastic waste. These Keurig-compatible plastic cups are an easy way to cut down on the amount of trash you create without cutting down on your caffeine. Additionally, you won't have to keep on buying K Cups, which means you'll be saving money and the environment.

K&J Reusable Filter Cups, $8.95 for a set of 4,; at Amazon

Low-flow shower head


Low-flow water fixtures can cut down your water consumption, which saves you money while also saving one of the Earth's resources. This shower head was designed with a lighter flow in mind, which means you'll be able to cut down on water usage without feeling like you're cutting down on your shower.

Speakman Low Flow Shower Head, $14.58; at Amazon

Bamboo safety razor


Instead of throwing away a disposable razor every time you shave, invest in an eco-friendly, reusable one. This unisex shaver isn't just sustainable, it's also sharp-looking, which means it would make a great gift for the holidays.

Zomchi Safety Razor, $16.99; at Amazon

The Planet